Write your own review
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
  • Bad
  • Excellent
Existing reviews
Extreme Service trigger
I have used 4 of John’s “Extreme Service” triggers in 3 of my pistol’s and one I did for a friend, I couldn’t be happier with them and their quality. The one I used in one of my Colts took very minor fitting, just a few strokes with a file, the one in my Professional took a little more fitting for a perfect fit, and the one in my Les Baer Thunder Ranch took the most fitting. As anyone familiar with Les Baer pistols knows, his guns are built to very tight tolerances and the extra fitting to achieve a perfect fit, was not unexpected . The 4th trigger I installed in my friend’s Colt; his being a MKIV Series 80 built during the “strike years” at Colt (1986-1990), when their build quality varied greatly. It took absolutely no fitting whatsoever and had a fit that you would think took hours. None of the triggers required any fitting of the adjustment screw, they all have perfectly “crisp” trigger pulls with absolutely no over travel. I also installed one of John’s “Retro ignition sets” in my friends pistol, very impressed with the quality of those parts also, extremely well made. When finished, the old Colt had a terrific trigger pull of around 4 1/2#, perfect for a carry gun, in my humble opinion.

I have a couple more projects in mind to do, they will, without doubt, be done using John’s parts!

Regards,
OD*
john@HarrisonCustom.com | 9/13/2011 10:00 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
The Best Trigger
I have installed the short solid trigger before and just recently installed a long solid trigger. I did have to adjust the over-travel screw on the sort. On the long trigger there was zero fitting. The trigger pull is seamless and perfect. Both were literally Drop-in. Harrison parts are outstanding and the their quality is unmatched. Additionally, the service was equally as good as the parts quality. I placed my order and received a confirmation email along with a tracking number. The order arrived in about five days. Not only that, but I also received confirmation emails stating that my order had been delivered. I will be ordering more soon. Thank you Harrison Design for providing some of the best parts I have ever used!
eborup@hawaii.rr.com | 12/29/2011 3:58 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
The BEST trigger out there... Ive tried them all
I ordered this trigger along with Johns Ignition kit. The parts arrive super fast... I mean in like two days!
The trigger was high quality with a nicely polished bow and a smooth. comfortable trigger shoe. I installed it in a S&W 1911 "E" series pistol. I had to stone the trigger shoe for height. A couple strokes on the top and botton of the shoe and the trigger slid right in and moved freely. I got a perfect fit by stoning a little bit at a time. It took me five or six try but the trigger dropped right afte a little attention.

Adjusting the overtravel was the next part. This is the main reason I decided to purchase this trigger. I have installed probably a dozen or so 1911 triggers over the course of my life. Most if not all of the triggers had a over-travel screw that was adjusted from the face of the trigger. This is a very poor design in my opinion. The screw would ALWAYS creep in and make the pistol impossible to fire. Ive used blue loctite and red loctite but Ive always have had issues with these over travel screws creeping in and blocking the trigger from releasing the sear.

This trigger eliminates this problem because the adjustment screw is fixed solidly in its position. I had to remove a fair amount of material to obtain a creep free trigger. I had to assemble and take apart the gun half a dozen times before I got the sweet spot. I encourage everyone fittng this trigger to do it in very very small increments. You can always remove material but its a pain to put it back.

I now have a Rock Solid, Dead Reliable trigger that wont tear up my finger. My old serrated trigger would make my finger so sore after a couple hundred rounds of steel plate shooting. My aunt and I would shoot steel plates every Sunday night at the local indoor pistol range. I would go through around 500 rounds of 45 acp ammo every weekend. By the end of the shoot I could actually see a tiny circle of raw pink flesh on the tip/bottom of my trigger finger. Im happy to report this trigger will remedy that situation.

All in all this is the BEST trigger Ive used but it will require a little time and attention to get a perfect fit. Your effort will be rewarded with the best feeling most reliable trigger money can buy.
erick.levesque@yahoo.com | 3/17/2013 3:00 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
The Best... Ive tried them all
I installed this trigger along with John's ignition kit, hammer strut, and sear spring. The parts work in unison with one another. I installed the trigger in a S&W1911TA "E" series pistol. The top and bottom of the trigger shoe needed a couple of passes on a stone to fit properly. It didnt take much and the fit feels like a true custom pistol. Theres no side to side or up and down movement what so ever. I got the overtravel stop filed down to perfection. My trigger only has around 1/8 inch of movement in it. I have ZERO creep, just a solid feeling trigger with ZERO overtravel as well. It truely feels like a custom pistol. I flick the safety off, apply a small amount of pressure on the trigger and *wham* the gun fires and feels like the proverial "glass rod" breaking.

The main reason I decided to go with this trigger is its fixed overtravel stop. Ive used just about every trigger out there from various makers. Ive done roughly a dozen or so full trigger jobs on 1911's. Most if not all of the overtravel screws work themselves inward after usage rendering the pistol worthless. This might be ok for a target gun but not for a defensive pistol. John's design solves this problem by having a fixed stop that needs to be filed/ground down until you have zero overtravel and zero chance of having you pistol fail at the worst possible moment.

This trigger really is a huge improvement over every other trigger Ive tried. Heck even the stock trigger's set screw worked its way in even after I appled RED loctite. Stick with John's trigger and rest assured that your gun will fire everytime.
erick.levesque@yahoo.com | 3/19/2013 9:24 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Excellent choice!
The fit was fast and easy for this novice!  Results?  This Colt Commander now has a trigger as smooth as the customs in my safe.  

John was most helpful in my trigger-ignition build.....excellent parts, great service, fast delivery!  
clevedm@neo.rr.com | 10/22/2013 8:01 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Outstanding Trigger
The trigger came packed well and with minimal fluff.  As I disassembled my Springfield mil spec, and kept worrying about how the over travel was going to work.  Since the adjustment screw is "locked" in place, you have to file it down to the correct length.  That means NO DO OVERS.  The trigger was as I expected oversized and took a bit of time with first a file and then very fine sandpaper to make it fit perfectly. This may seem like a detractor to a 1911 neophyte, but it actually allows the trigger to fit without rattling every time you move.  For the final fit, I used poor man's marking fluid (a sharpie) to take off the final thousandth. After reassembling the pistol I test fired the trigger and noticed I needed to take a few strokes off the adjustment "screw". About five licks in two different sessions I now believe I have the ultimate trigger on my carry gun.  I'm not a man of great means so I will be ordering more parts from John slowly, but I see no reason to purchase parts from anyone else. It absolutely exceeded every expectation I had.  

I know everyone says how Harrison Custom ships fast.  I figured it was hyperbole, I mean seriously he uses the same USPS three day boxes everyone else does.  I think John must have some secret insider at the post office. I ordered my trigger on Saturday mid morning, I had it Monday. From Georgia to Indiana.  I've had pizzas take longer.
Bigbadjon82@gmail.com | 11/30/2015 7:25 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Outstanding Trigger
The trigger came packed well and with minimal fluff.  As I disassembled my Springfield mil spec, and kept worrying about how the over travel was going to work.  Since the adjustment screw is "locked" in place, you have to file it down to the correct length.  That means NO DO OVERS.  The trigger was as I expected oversized and took a bit of time with first a file and then very fine sandpaper to make it fit perfectly. This may seem like a detractor to a 1911 neophyte, but it actually allows the trigger to fit without rattling every time you move.  For the final fit, I used poor man's marking fluid (a sharpie) to take off the final thousandth. After reassembling the pistol I test fired the trigger and noticed I needed to take a few strokes off the adjustment "screw". About five licks in two different sessions I now believe I have the ultimate trigger on my carry gun.  I'm not a man of great means so I will be ordering more parts from John slowly, but I see no reason to purchase parts from anyone else. It absolutely exceeded every expectation I had.  

I know everyone says how Harrison Custom ships fast.  I figured it was hyperbole, I mean seriously he uses the same USPS three day boxes everyone else does.  I think John must have some secret insider at the post office. I ordered my trigger on Saturday mid morning, I had it Monday. From Georgia to Indiana.  I've had pizzas take longer.
Bigbadjon82@gmail.com | 11/30/2015 7:51 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Parts, Tools and Service
I use John's parts whenever possible on customer guns. Ignition sets, triggers, and safeties are all fantastic parts along with everything else John manufactures. They set the standard of quality in the 1911 world.

I also own his extractor machining fixture and frame holding fixture. Both tools make it easier and faster to do the quality of work that I want to leave my shop.

John has always been a pleasure to deal with and shipping is amazingly fast.

Thank you so much John!
david@dcengraving.com | 4/4/2017 2:46 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)